168: A Celestial Number

As mentioned. This site is called Project 168 because 168 turned out to be my ideal weight in pounds. That’s one aspect of Project 168.

However, Project 168 also refers to my pursuit to continuously have a good and happy life. Why 168? Because in Chinese Buddhism (more on why I kept on referring this as Chinese Buddhism on later posts) and Feng Shui 168 is considered as a celestial number. It’s the number that brings luck, happiness, wealth and maybe even good health.

First, lets talk about the number 8, it is highly regarded as one of the luckiest number, not only because we are currently living through the Flying Star Period of 8 (more on Flying Star in later posts), but also in Feng Shui and Taoism 8 is one the three white numbers that bestows upon us prosperity and abundance. More than that 8 belong to the earth element, which means it, gives us an excellent Feng Shui foundation. In fact, one of the luckiest symbols in Feng Shui, which is the mystic knot, is fashioned out of the number 8 done as the infinity sign and repeated three times.

More than that, in Mandarin the word eight 八 is pronounced as ‘ba’ which sound like the word prosper or wealth and because of this, in Feng Shui and Chinese Buddhism, the number 8 is associated with wealth luck.

The number 6 is also considered as one of the luckiest number. 6 is considered as heaven’s number. This is especially good if one needs a strong mentor luck or patriarchal energy.

Again in Mandarin, six (六) that is pronounced as ‘Liu’ also sounds like the word smooth flowing. In Feng Shui this would mean that whatever is associated with the number 6 would make its energy more smooth and free flowing. It will help vanish obstacles in one’s life and it will also smoothen that path to good luck or good chi.

Now, the number 1 refers to the beginning. In Feng Shui, it typically represents the start of something good.

So 168 in Chinese Buddhism and Feng Shui means it’s the start of something good and something great and attaining it without too much obstacles.

For Filipinos, let us bear in mind that this is the true meaning of 168 and that it’s not a mall to buy cheap stuff. But now you know why they are doing really well.

About jefftan168

Numbers does not rule my life. But if there’s a number that may play a big influence in my life that is 168. You see, about six months ago, when I went into a gym and had a weigh in and body mass index reading, I found out that I was already type 2 obese, and if I’m not mistaken there are only 3 types. In fact, I need to shed about 43% of my total body weight. I’m 5’5 and my ideal weight would be 165lbs, but according to my trainer since I’ve already accumulated so much skin by stretching it too much because of my fats it’s ok to just settle with 168lbs to 170lbs. (Internal monologue at that time was 5lbs of skin!) That’s’ the reason why I’m calling this blog Project 168 because that’s my ultimate weight goal. However, being a Chinese Buddhist and a believer of Feng Shui, 168 is also considered as a celestial number that is suppose to be really lucky. Thus Project 168 also refers to my quest to have a good happy life and to be a good student of Chinese Buddhism. A word of caution though, growing up, my parents firmly believed that the next super language is not English but Chinese. Thus special focus was given for me to learn Mandarin, in fact, I was send to Taiwan on summers to further learn the language. The big disadvantage is that I’ve such a poor commando of the English language that surely you’ll see some grammatical errors in every post. However, I still decided to write this blog in English to be able to share this with people who are also trying to lose weight and who are like me are in a quest to constantly live a good life. This blog is not me talking to the world but its me sharing my experience to whoever would want to read this so that it might help them, and more important than that people might want to share with me also their experience that it might help in my quest to lose weight and also to constantly have a good life.
This entry was posted in Chinese Buddhism, Feng Shui and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 168: A Celestial Number

  1. I’ve read some good stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting.
    I wonder how so mmuch attempt you puut to make the
    sort of magnificent informative website.

  2. Those customers were genuinely rude and disrespectful, anyone would agree with
    you. It is always of the utmost importance in business to
    treat each and every customer as if they are the most important.

    His self hypnosis MP3 download ‘Letting Go of the Past’ is now
    available.

  3. When someone writes an article he/she keeps the image of a
    user inn his/her mind that how a user can know it.

    Therefore that’s why this article is great. Thanks!

  4. Tito Fernan says:

    Thanks for this information. I’ve been wondering for some time the meaning and significance of the number 168 since I see it all the time, especially in Chinatown.

Leave a Reply

