Acer Ferrari Liquid E: The Root of My Anger

In my previous post I wrote about worldly things that makes life a little better.

The Acer Ferrari Liquid E Smartphone is supposed to be one such worldly thing. Smart Communications, my cell phone service provider, informed me that my 2 year contract has just ended and should I opt to sign for another 2 years contract under their retention program I’ll get a free phone. Some of you who are postpaid subscribers may be familiar with this promo. I totally appreciate this because of my work, my mobile phone’s life span is only about 2 years, and instead of buying an expensive phone, I get the one that’s given by Smart.

I have several phones to choose from, one is the Blackberry Bold…

Blackberry Bold 9300

The SE Ericsson Xperia…

Sony Ericsson Xperia10

and the Acer Ferrari Liquid E.

Acer Ferrari Liquid E

I’m not a techie person and the choices were all good so it was a tough decision for me. My first thought is to get the Blackberry Bold; I will surely need that for my line of work. It’s important that I access all my emails right away. However, the customer service representative of the Smart Wireless Center in SM North EDSA told me that the Acer Ferrari Liquid E Smartphone is already a blackberry…almost…in the sense that I can also access and reply to my emails. Hmmm…. I have a tough decision to make.

Anyway, upon the advice of a friend, SE Xperia is out of the ‘race’ and its now down to either the Blackberry or Acer Ferrari Liquid E.

Aesthetic wise the Acer Ferrari Liquid E has an edge over the Blackberry. It’s really more beautiful than the Blackberry.

Also, I know that I really lack the element of fire, which is represented by the color red, so getting the Acer Ferrari Liquid E will compliment my missing element. On top of that it also has the color yellow that also compliments my elements and it has the image of an aggressive horse, which is also very good for career advancement. So if it only were for Feng Shui considerations the Acer Ferrari Liquid E is the hands down winner.

For people whose Bazi/Paht Chee chart shows that the fire element or is missing, the Acer Ferrari Liquid E will make a very good phone to fill up the missing fire element.

But, as I said, I’m not a techie person so choosing phones, even if it’s given as part of Smart’s retention program, its a big decision for me. It should be because I’ll have to use the phone for 2 years and I really don’t want to spend money to buy my own phone.

After searching the net, and getting more impressed with the Acer Ferrai Liquid E…

I found out that the Acer Ferrari Liquid has Android as its operating system.

Android is an operating system created by Google. It's said to be an iPhone killer system.

Android also has its own Android Market that is very similar to iTunes Store. There are found out that there are so many Buddhist and Taoist applications that can help me in my pursuit in being a student of Chinese Buddhism. On top of that, it also has Mobile Digital Prayer Wheel application, which according to His Holiness The 14th Dalai Lama, also works as a real prayer wheel.

Sample image of a mobile phone digital prayer wheel.

Another sample of a digital prayer wheel.

(I first found out this kind of digital Buddhist applications through the blog of STUMPBO. She wrote about how her iPhone application called Buddhist counter helped her in finishing her commitment to finish 100 Mala Beads. Read more about it in her blog called Life of Lopsided 8.)

The author of Life of Lopsided 8 finished 100 malas of the Medicine Buddha Mantra using her iPhone application call Buddha Counter.

Anyway, going back to the topic, these are ‘pogi’ points that really make the Acer Ferrari Liquid E very attractive. So the next big question is whether I’ll be able to use the phone and more importantly whether I can transfer my 5,041 contacts in my Nokia phone to Acer’s Ferrari Liquid E.

I went to look for an Acer store and even though the sales representatives are very accommodating they don’t know anything about the phone. Nevertheless, they exerted all efforts to accommodate my inquiries and called up the Acer Ferrari Liquid E product manager, Gino Villame.

Gino was also very accommodating and he patiently answered all my inquiries. Most important of all the questions is whether I can transfer my 5,041 contacts to Acer’s Ferrari Liquid E. He said that its possible, I just need to sync my current Nokia phone to Outlook and then download a software in Android Market to transfer it to my phone. He also said that he’d have somebody email me the guide on how to do it. I really appreciate Gino Villame’s effort. More than that I appreciate his honesty when I asked whether the Acer Ferrari Liquid E will last as long as my Nokia phones which lasts anywhere from 2 – 3 years. He said he is not sure because Acer phones are basically new but that he believes that they are sturdy. His honestly coupled with the promise that he’ll also have somebody email me (ASAP) the ‘process’ made me decide to get the Acer Ferrari Liquid E. In fact, when asked he said I can see their technical support group and they would be more than happy and willing me to teach me to make the transfer and/or do it for me.

To make the long story short I got the Acer Ferrari Liquid E, rushed home boot up my computer to check my email and…. nada…. the promised email is not in my inbox.

I called up Gino on his mobile phone but unfortunately he wasn’t able to pick up. Instead he sent a message with the contact number of their service center.

The following day I went to Acer’s service center in Paco, Manila. Was asked to wait for half an hour before I was entertained. Told them my concern of wanting to transfer my contacts to my new phone, which is the Acer Ferrari Liquid E. The girl in front of me showed the first sign that she’s ignorant of everything by telling me they’ll check whether they can do a SIM transfer. I clarified that that’s not possible because I have 5,041 contacts in my phonebook and some of them have multiple numbers or contact details. She then said she’d have their technical support group do it for me. I requested that they do it in front of me because I also would want to learn how to do it.

The girl who attended to me approached her superior who is seated not far from where I’m seated. Heard her made the request, I didn’t hear what was the response of the superior but soon enough I heard them chit chatting about something else. I strived to keep my patience and my temper in check. After about 20 minutes she returned and told me that they can’t have the technical support person come out because it’s against their company policy. This really irritated me, because it took her 20 minutes to tell me that they can’t have their technical support person come out because its against company policy. Isn’t this something that she could have mentioned right away? Besides I heard them chit chatting about something else and not about my concern.

Although feeling irritated I still tried to keep myself from flaring up, so I insisted to see the technical support person because this is something that Gino Villame, the product manager, assured me is possible. She went in again and after about 10 minutes another girl, who introduced herself as the team leader, approached me. I then have to reiterate my concern and to be fair with her she was able to pull out the technical support person-William de Guia.

I then have to tell him my concern and added, addressing both William and the team leader, that I was really not suppose to get the Acer Ferrari Liquid E but that Gino Villame has assured me that technical support is not going to be a problem and that’s when  I decided to get the Acer Ferrari instead of the Blackberry Bold.

The team leader then assured me that they would be able to transfer my contacts from my Nokia E75 to the new Acer Ferrari phone. But as soon as she assured me that they’ll be able to do it, William who is suppose to be the one knowledgeable about it clarified that they really haven’t done any transfer and is not sure on how to do it.

At this point the Service Center Manager, who introduces himself as Ricky, I later found out his full name, is Ricardo Boragay, arrived and again inquired as to what is my concern. Please note that I’m already getting tired being asked as to what is my concern, can’t they properly brief each other? Anyway, I again discussed my concern ending it with a question and seeking for an assurance that they indeed can handle my simple request of transferring my Nokia E75 contacts into the new Acer Ferrari Liquid E phone. Ricky looked really uncomfortable, and in a much smaller voice and slightly shaking voice replied, “We’ll try…” The way he said it sounded more like ‘No, we can’t!’, rather than the real “We’ll try.”. I wasn’t able to control myself and told him that it’s not good enough. I clarified that it’s not a matter of whether they can do it but more of they should be able to do it. That’s what Gino Villame assured me, it could be done by their technical support team. Let me add, that by this time, Gino is no longer picking up his phone. To be fair, it’s a Saturday, but I was looking for the Gino Villame who answers his phone at the first ring, the Gino Villame who replies to sms as soon as he receives my sms. In short, I was looking for the Gino Villame before the sale; the after sale Gino Villame is not as nice as the pre-sale Gino Villame. Oh yes, I ‘talked’ to the pre-sale Gino Friday morning, and the after sale not-as-accommodating Gino Villame was ona  Friday afternoon and Saturday, so for the benefit of the doubt it was technically no longer a regular working hour, but the pre-sale nice Gino Villame didn’t strike me as somebody who is concerned about work schedule to accommodate an early adapter client who is willing to try out a relatively young brand/product.

To make the long story short, 4 hours after I arrived at the Acer Service Center, and after calling up 3 techie blogger friends to help and give instruction to the Acer Technical Support staff my new Acer Ferrari Liquid E phone is still empty of my contacts. I can’t wait any longer because I still have a reunion to attend to, so I requested Ricky to send William to wherever I am to transfer my contacts. I also requested Ricky and William to please make sure that William should be armed with the full knowledge and all the required software to do the process. I’ll meet them tomorrow and we shall see if we’re successful in having this worldly thing make my life just a little better. Ricky also nicely waived the fees for an ‘home’ service.

But before that I can’t help wonder as to whether I made the wrong decision in getting the Acer Ferrari Liquid E. Because if Acer Philippines is serious about their business they would have made sure that all new early adapters will not have a difficult time in the transition from whatever their old phones are to the new Acer phones. I remember Apple iPhone made sure that they have the iService centers to properly assist that new adaptors. They made sure that these people are well trained.

Nevertheless, this also proves that worldly things are just that worldly things, and its up to us whether we chose to make it into a useful object to help make life better or like the initial incident with the Acer Ferrari Liquid E, make life more difficult.

About jefftan168

Numbers does not rule my life. But if there’s a number that may play a big influence in my life that is 168. You see, about six months ago, when I went into a gym and had a weigh in and body mass index reading, I found out that I was already type 2 obese, and if I’m not mistaken there are only 3 types. In fact, I need to shed about 43% of my total body weight. I’m 5’5 and my ideal weight would be 165lbs, but according to my trainer since I’ve already accumulated so much skin by stretching it too much because of my fats it’s ok to just settle with 168lbs to 170lbs. (Internal monologue at that time was 5lbs of skin!) That’s’ the reason why I’m calling this blog Project 168 because that’s my ultimate weight goal. However, being a Chinese Buddhist and a believer of Feng Shui, 168 is also considered as a celestial number that is suppose to be really lucky. Thus Project 168 also refers to my quest to have a good happy life and to be a good student of Chinese Buddhism. A word of caution though, growing up, my parents firmly believed that the next super language is not English but Chinese. Thus special focus was given for me to learn Mandarin, in fact, I was send to Taiwan on summers to further learn the language. The big disadvantage is that I’ve such a poor commando of the English language that surely you’ll see some grammatical errors in every post. However, I still decided to write this blog in English to be able to share this with people who are also trying to lose weight and who are like me are in a quest to constantly live a good life. This blog is not me talking to the world but its me sharing my experience to whoever would want to read this so that it might help them, and more important than that people might want to share with me also their experience that it might help in my quest to lose weight and also to constantly have a good life.
This entry was posted in Worldly Things that Makes Life a Little Better and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Acer Ferrari Liquid E: The Root of My Anger

  1. That is really a bad customer service!

Leave a Reply

